Skip to content ↓

Keeping children safe

Safeguarding children is everyone's responsibility. 

At The Carlton Academy, we are absolutely committed to creating a happy and safe environment that is a place for positive learning. Safeguarding our students is paramount. Our team is highly vigilant about safeguarding children and child protection. To keep all our students safe we need support from our community and visitors. 

Take immediate action if you have any concerns. Contact us. 

Please inform us immediately of any concerns about our students' safety inside or outside school. To raise a safeguarding issue, please ask to speak to any of the staff members listed below or email us: tcasafeguarding@theacademycarlton.org 

The Safeguarding Team  
Role Who Email address
Designated Safeguarding Lead Mrs Mullen e.mullen@theacademycarlton.org
Safeguarding Officer Mrs Holford c.holford@theacademycarlton.org 
Safeguarding Officer Ms Egwuma m.egwuma@theacademycarlton.org
Safeguarding Officer Mrs Bradwell l.bradwell@theacademycarlton.org
Children's Social Care: Nottinghamshire County 

Multi-Agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH) 

Phone: 0300 500 80 90 Email: mash.safeguarding@nottscc.gov.uk 

Emergency Duty Team (out of hours): 0300 456 4546 

Police: 101 or Emergency Services: 999 

Safeguarding Children Partnership 

Website: nottinghamcity.gov.uk/ncscp 

Family Lives - Family Lives provides targeted early intervention and crisis support to families. 

Website: familylives.org.uk 

 

Are you worried about online sexual abuse or the way someone has been communicating with you online?

Click here to view CEOP page

 

 

Please click here for Self Help information with useful links 

 Therefore, please find below a list of support services available to you if you have any concerns. 

  • Your first option during school hours should be to call school and ask to speak to a safeguarding officer. 

  • If this is not possible or the school is closed, then please email the most appropriate member of staff listed below. 

  • This is likely to be your child’s HOH or a safeguarding officer. Please note, these members of staff will be able to respond to emails during normal school hours.  

  • If you do email please copy at least two people into the email to ensure that this is picked up.  

The Safeguarding Team  
Role Who Email address
Designated Safeguarding Lead Mrs Mullen e.mullen@theacademycarlton.org
Safeguarding Officer Mrs Holford c.holford@theacademycarlton.org 
Safeguarding Officer Ms Egwuma m.egwuma@theacademycarlton.org
Safeguarding Officer Mrs Bradwell l.bradwell@theacademycarlton.org
Carnarvon Mrs Chambers r.chambers@theacademycarlton.org
Cavendish Mr Bali s.bali@theacademycarlton.org
Grove Miss Caines r.caines@theacademycarlton.org 
Hollingsclough Mrs Blackwell a.blackwell@theacdemycarlton.org
Hutchinson Mr Sharpe j.sharpe@theacademycarlton.org 
Post 16 Ms Jennings a.jennings@theacademycarlton.org 

 

Urgent Concerns - those at immediate risk  
  • Nottinghamshire Multi  agency Safeguarding Hub (MASH)  

  • If you have urgent concerns for a child, or suspect that a child has been abused in any way, you can also report a safeguarding concern to Nottinghamshire Multi-agency Safeguarding Hub by calling 0300 500 80  80 (if you are a member of the public).  

  • If you require an urgent response outside of working hours (08:30 17:00), contact the Emergency Duty Team  

  • (EDT) on 0300 456 4546. In an emergency call 999.  

For those not at Immediate Risk but require Support - Early Help Unit  
  • The Family Service provides early help support for children & young people aged 5 to 18.  

  • Substance misuse   

  • Defiant behaviour issues at home or school   

  • Emotional health difficulties that do not meet CAMHS criteria   

  • Support with finding work, training or re-entering education   

  • Young Carers  

  • Telephone:0115 80412?48    Email: early.help@nottscc.gov.uk     Opening Hours: Monday to Friday 09.00am to 4.30pm